At a good place – 50 posts and counting

Well, I had hoped to mark my 50th post, but of course I forgot, so I’ll mention it today on the 51st. And who counts the first one anyway when all that is really said is “Hey, this is my first blog page”.  It seems so long ago that I started and had no idea what I was doing. This blogging thing is really something I had to take time and grow into. The great thing is that in only 6 months I have met so many kind and talented people.  I look forward to it all, even if I had no idea what I was getting into when I started.  It’s been so much fun so far.

On the art front, I am inking the picture already. It is going to take a little longer as it is a bit bigger than the ones I’ve recently done. It looks okay so far and I will take a picture at the inked in stage if I remember (senior moments not withstanding).

A few of my daffodils

On the homestead front, everything is growing like crazy. My daffodils are beautiful this year, the new forsythia had some blooms when I was afraid they weren’t going to make it through the drought and extra cold winter, the peepers are peeping, and the grass is growing. We have seen redwing blackbirds on the cattail remains, many hawks, and pileated woodpeckers repeatedly around the house. I am hoping for a picture of Tom or Jerry displaying to the turkey hens, but you know how that goes. Have to be in the right time and place.  All in all it has been a very satisfactory spring after such a hard, hard winter.

And to top it all, Jessica finished the foiling of the staind glass, so I thought another picture was in order.  Now “all” that is left is to solder and frame it.  Pretty nice, huh.

The foiled stained glass window

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sonya Johnson
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 18:57:44

    I remember my blogging milestones: 100th post, first anniversary of blogging. And, you’re right: I’ve met, and continue to meet, wonderful people and fellow artists through blogging.

    Here’s to your next milestone, whatever that may be!

    [I remember how explosive spring was when I lived in Connecticut; it’s much more subtle here in the southwest]

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 08:04:02

    Thanks, Sonya. I’m enjoying this a lot more than I expected to.

    Reply

  3. lindahalcombfineart
    Apr 15, 2011 @ 18:38:01

    Congratulations on number 50 and 51! The stained glass piece is gorgeous. Good luck with the inking. Ink is always alittle scary for me. SO unforgiving!

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Apr 15, 2011 @ 19:18:58

    Yes, but the Virgo in me finds it appealing and I do like working with the positive/negative space created.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

