Spring has sprung

We just got back from a few days away and it is amazing how much everything has grown in the mean time. The daffodils have been liking the cooler weather this year and have already lasted two weeks. The vinca has come back with a vengeance and is blooming like crazy. There were even a few blooms on the forsythia I planted last year. With the extended drought last summer and into fall, and then the long, cold, snowy winter, I was really afraid that a lot of plants wouldn’t make it. instead, all of the flora seems to have been invigorated this spring. Maybe all of the snow cushioned the cold and since we had so many smaller snows, the ground was slowly resaturated. I don’t know, but the flowers are really beautiful this spring.

Grand entryway

I  did finish the color on the entryway before we left, but  I wanted to let it sit for a short while so our short trip was perfect.  The photograph is not the greatest because it is raining outside and I am depending on my studio lights.  It is hard to get the balance of color and sharpness with just the fluorescents even though they are full spectrum.  I will try again later and maybe tomorrow when we are supposed to have some sun and replace it with a sharper one.  Sometimes the camera seems to have a mind of its own.  I normally take 2-3 shots that should be exactly the same and they turn out slightly different.  I am just not that great with the camera and usually let volume of pictures help compensate.  Heck, if National Geographic takes a thousand pictures for its articles, why can’t I take a few dozen if I need to.

I am thinking also perhaps doing a few aceos with aspects of architecture and see how they turn out.  I still have some of the last group left and it might be artistically freeing.  I already have the latest picture lined out and that would be a good project when I want to let the larger picture rest.

And a link to it on etsy.

http://www.etsy.com/listing/71951719/southern-home-grand-entryway-pastel-pen

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sonya Johnson
    Apr 11, 2011 @ 12:21:47

    This looks fantastic with color as well! I’ll look forward to seeing your ACEO-sized architectural pieces – I bet they will be fun!

    And, as you say, they really can be freeing to do.

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Apr 11, 2011 @ 12:32:00

    Thanks, Sonja. I’ve decided to keep on the grand entryway theme for a little while since I really enjoyed doing this one. Sometimes I have the worst time selecting a subject. I should start inking the new one soon and will try the different aceos in the down time.

    Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 00:19:58

    Absolutely beautiful, Ruth!

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 08:26:20

    Thanks, Leslie.

    I was kind of pleased with this one. Let’s see how I feel in a week or two about it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

