Tags or ACEO – What should I do?

First of all, let me wish everyone a happy first day of spring.  I can’t think back to when I have been so glad to see the back end of winter arrive.  Whew, but I can’t wait for my daffodils to flower.  And I already have buds on a few.

Now onto the tag project – or is it ACEO?  I can’t decide.  I went back after the big sheet of watercolor paper had dried and fortunately it was flat again.  I stared at it a long time trying to decide what to do.  I decided to be bold for a change.  What the heck – it was only a sheet of watercolor paper and I had plenty.  I would try to add some more washes and some heavier color. 

Cut watercolor sheet

I lightly put on a clean water wash over the previous day’s work, being careful not to brush down hard where I had color layed.  I saw a very little bit of movement from the older wash but not enough to be concerned about.  Then I layed in some more washes and drops of color.  When I felt that I had covered with enough colors, I let it alone to dry. 

I came back the next day and stared at it again for a while.  Should I add more or start to cut it up?  I opted not overdo it – always a hard decision on where to stop.  Overnight, laying in bed, I had the thought that rather than cutting up the paper in business card size for gift tags, perhaps I should make them the little bit larger ACEO size and expand my options.  So I plotted out a few areas that I thought would make a pretty background and then started cutting.  This was actually easier to do mentally and emotionally than the last time I cut up what I had done.  I was glad, as it turned out, that I decided to make them bigger.  I think that it took better advantage of the colors.  Odd how just a half-inch size change could make such a difference but I think it did.  Here above are some of the pieces.  I think they are pretty nice on their own and haven’t decided what to do with them.

I like them all well enough that I don’t know whether or not I want to punch a hole in them for use as gift tags.  Perhaps I could get some ACEO card holders and punch the hole in them instead.  That way they could be used as a gift tag with a little bit of writing on the back and kept as a keepsake. I’ve not bought any holders yet so I don’t know what is possible.  I guess that I will be working that out over the next few days.  It’s nice to feel satisfied with something I have done for a change and to be looking at options instead of the circular file.

Inked over cards I

 

Inked over cards II

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. one heart
    Mar 20, 2011 @ 16:20:38

    I really like them, Ruth. ACEO cards seem to sell well on Etsy and are popular with collectors.

    Ideas that came to mind…

    Maybe some of your paper could be cut just big enough for small note cards (3×5) or whatever the small standard size is, inked and folded. Pastel watercolor flowers are pretty irresistible, as is trees with soft blue skies, cute animals or a small house on a hill. A pack of four cards make a nice little set!

    Reply

  2. Valerie
    Mar 20, 2011 @ 16:58:21

    I wouldn’t want to punch a hole in them either. ACEOs are nice. Or make them into gift cards with a little envelope. They’re very pretty.

    Reply

  3. ruthsartwork
    Mar 20, 2011 @ 21:29:02

    Thanks for the ideas. I will be looking for enclosures for them this week. I know I can get some clear plastic sleeves as well as envelopes from some of the online art stores. I also have some acid free cards and envelopes already. I had trouble with washes curling the cards though and have to work that out first.

    Reply

  4. lesliepaints
    Mar 21, 2011 @ 09:52:06

    These are beautiful, Ruth. I am with the comments, above. Don’t punch that hole. They would make wonderful handmade notecards. Something to save and savor. Beautiful use of color! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Maggie Flatley
    Mar 21, 2011 @ 10:05:02

    The are delightful, no hole, they are gorgeous. Love your work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

