Time change, schmime change. Let’s just leave the sun alone.

I live in a state where the time change that the rest of the country dealt with was not adopted until a few years ago. I had grown up with it so originally it wasn’t a big deal when I moved here, but I tell you, after almost 30 years without, I unknowingly got very used to it. It wasn’t ever a common thing to think about, of course, but it was a comfortable thing to live with. The only hassles were trying to explain to people in other states that our time relative to them varied over the course of the year.

Well, a couple of years ago, someone in the governor’s office got too smart for his pants and somehow managed to push through a law to get us onto daylight savings time. And I think much of the state, for the most part, was happy with the way things were before. It was a little bit of distinction out here in the Heartland.  We weren’t so ruled by our clocks as others.  I could even tell you the approximate time of day depending on where the sun was.    For years this was screwed up for me, and it is only lately that I can do it reliably, minus a few weeks around the change.  And I think that the rationale for it has certainly changed.  The farm population has dropped dramatically and many work at outside jobs, so the farm work has pushed on into the night, as has the use of lights on the farm equipment.   Do we really need to have kids up until 10 or 11 playing outdoor games and small children put to bed in almost full daylight?     Now, we have light in the summer until 10 pm and the “noon” sun comes about 2:00.  Do they have DST in Europe or Asia?  Does it really improve productivity anymore when we are now on a world wide 24 hour a day schedule?  I have my doubts.   With all of the studies on the sleep deprived population in the US, why add onto all of the stress that we have in our lives already.  AND, if anything, we should have been put onto Central time.

Enough about that, I guess.  It just irks me twice a year to have to do this for what I believe is no real reason.

I’ve started coloring my barn this week, but it’s not done yet.  I’m going to use the watercolors mostly, I think, and add in a little colored pencil.  I took advantage of the nicer weather we have been having and spent a little time outside , pulling up some of the dead plants in the bed. I  know, I should have done most of it last fall, but oh well.  My daffodils have finally started to come up about 3″ now.  It’s a little late but after the cold of the winter I am glad to see that most of the shrubs and flowers have survived.  My cold tolerant  herbs seem to have made it through and the lilacs and newer forsythia plants are starting to show buds.  It’s a relief because it was such a bad winter.  I heard the birds start to sing ouside at the barn where I keep my aging quarter horse mare.  I was worried all winter that she would fall in the ice and snow and since she can’t get herself up anymore that she wouln’t make it through.  But she did and is now shedding out small dogs in anticipation of warmer weather.

Confused Christmas Cactus

In honor of the long winter that started early and stayed late, here is a photo of my confused Christmas cactus.  It is reblooming for the third time in the last six months.  I prefer to think that it is merely giving me a little bridge to the spring and summer flowers that I love so much.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lindahalcombfineart
    Mar 13, 2011 @ 16:40:23

    Ruth, you must live in Indiana! Isn’t the Daylight Savings Time the weirdest thing? I used to love it but I had adjusted and did not really like it when it came back a couple of years ago. I get up early and go to bed early so I don’t have enough light to sit outside and read before my husband gets up. I used to love doing that. Oh well, no complaining…just have to move some of my reading to the end of the day.

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Mar 13, 2011 @ 17:28:09

    I grew up in Illinois with DST and thought nothing of it at the time. However, I had lived here for almost 30 years before the change and decided I quite liked not having the twice yearly changes. As you say,though, there isn’t much that we can do about it except grumble and move the clocks.

    Reply

  3. Sarah
    Mar 15, 2011 @ 07:29:32

    Wow…the three-time blooming cactus! Historically many babies were conceived during long winter nights. Winter = fertility?

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Mar 15, 2011 @ 11:12:44

    Yes, I have had good luck with the Christmas cactuses. I’ve had these for at least 15 years. The trick is to know where to put them. I had them for a long time next to a north window and nothing happened. I moved them to another north window, but about 3 feet from it and I had blooms in the summer!
    I think what happened is that I moved the maroon sheer in the window down a bit and let in some more light. I just have the curtains there to give guests a little semblence of privacy (although I don’t really know how effective it is and we don’t have neighbors to hide from) and when no one is around I usually drop it a few more inches. I just confuse the poor things to pieces. But the blooms are pretty and it doesn’t seem to harm the plant.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

