A Coyote on frozen pond

I’ve been working so hard on the bookmarks that little else has happened in the studio.  Since I am up to date on that, here is another look at the wildlife at Wild Crane Overlook Studio.

We were sitting down to lunch one cold February afternoon and I looked out over the lake. I could see a large canine down by the shallow end of the lake, but I couldn’t tell if it was a dog or a coyote. Since I have been hoping to get a picture of the local coyote population to publish, I ran and got the binoculars. Sure enough it was a VERY large coyote so another run for the camera ensued and a switch to the telephoto lens was quickly accomplished. (It is tough knowing what lens to leave on the camera since I have a macro, a wide angle zoom and a telephoto and rarely is the proper one on.) I managed to switch the lens before he loped off into the woods. It’s not the best of shots but it’ll do for now.  I later heard that there were three others in the vicinity, but I didn’t see the rest until a few days after this.

A BIG coyote

I really wanted to post a picture of the coyote because a year and a half ago we had the most special experience right outside our door. Our daughter was living with us for a few months until her condo was ready to close. I was up early too and working at the sink when I saw a coyote racing back and forth in the trees at the front of the house. It disappeared and then, shortly later, it or another reappeared, still dashing back and forth in a very peculiar manner. I called attention to it to my daughter and we watched the coyote race around. We soon found out why. It disappeared again and a minute or two later we saw three coyote puppies tumble out of the trees.  I called for her to come and look and ran to the bedroom to get my husband.  The puppies ran up towards the house and ended up right outside the bathroom window less than two feet from where we stood.  A fourth showed up and as the three of us squeezed into the bathroom around the one window, we watched them play in my flower beds.  One even got up onto the porch deck.  We stood mezmerized for the several minutes they gamboled up next to the house.  I never even thought about the camera , just enjoying this very special moment.  Suddenly they all looked up into to the line of trees and raced off.  Mom and dad must have been calling.  John swears he saw a fifth as they ran away.  You could have knocked us over with a feather.  These days, when I hear them howling in the middle of the night, I wonder if any of the pack could be one of the ones we all saw up close and very personal.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. one heart
    Mar 11, 2011 @ 11:33:52

    What a fantastic story. Lucky you! Even without the photos 🙂

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Mar 11, 2011 @ 17:48:11

    Yes, it was a very special, probably once in a lifetime experience. And we could have easily missed it. I’m grateful we didn’t.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

