Getting the bookmarks ready for sale

It has been a long process getting the bookmarks ready for sale. I spent a whole day getting the courage to actually cut up the artwork – even though it had sat for years unloved in a drawer. It was not quite good enough to market, but too good for the circular file just yet. I am so happy now that I did it. The pieces are so much more pleasing than the whole drawings were. I am thinking of going back and raiding a few more. What good is a piece of artwork doing, stuck in a file cabinet? And it makes a piece of artwork affordable, fun, and useful, all at the same time.

After some thought, I decided to laminate them. The 120 lb watercolor paper was too thin by itself and rather unsuitable for the task at hand. I investigated the lamination process and thought I had it all figured out.  I ran a few test pieces at a big box store in different mil sizes  that turned out well.  Unfortunately, when I went back a few days later to do the rest, I was told that the policy had changed for the 3 mil size that I liked best and there was now a minimum per piece price instead of by the square foot.  Major bummer and just my luck.  This rendered them too expensive to run that way.  I had to go back to the heavier mil lamination to get the price per piece down.  Counterintuative, but that’s just the way things are.  At this point, if things go well, I’ll go buy my own laminator in the near future. 

Here are two samples of the laminated bookmarks – one on thicker paper and one on thinner.  I’m going to sell a single or in groups of three.  Both are now listed.

Mixed media bookmark

http://www.etsy.com/listing/68965018/laminated-mixed-media-bookmark-1-12-x-8

Laminated watercolor bookmarks

http://www.etsy.com/listing/69001478/laminated-watercolor-bookmark-1-12-x-8

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karen
    Feb 27, 2011 @ 13:03:11

    Ruth, They look great! I was in a workshop a few years back where the instructor was doing a critique of some of the art. If he didn’t like the whole he did at least find the few inches of genius in each piece. Maybe sometimes the parts are better than the whole or there is just a few square inches of greatness.

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Feb 27, 2011 @ 16:26:37

    That’s the thought, although not my own original thought. The mixed media came from a picture I didn’t particularly like, but hadn’t gotten rid of. It sat on the studio ledge for 6 months as I considered what to do with it. The watercolor ones came from a class Gail and I took, but I didn’t particularily like what I produced. The parts were certainly greater than the whole. And it made some really affordable and useful art.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

