Finished my bout of modern medicine and am totally ready for spring.

Well, at last I feel fine. I calculated that it has been 7 weeks since the start of my illness, even though at the time I had no idea what was really happening and thought that  a few days of antibiotics would be all that was needed. Little did I know that in the ensuing weeks, I would see way more of modern medicine than I ever hope to see again. Don’t get me wrong, I’m glad it was available, but I have just had my quota for the forseeable future, thank you.

Anyway, I did manage to finish my latest picture earlier this week. It took three weeks instead of the usual 4-7 days.  This one has a little bit different color combination than some of the others.  It’s amazing what some of the smaller towns come up with for the colors of the main street.  I really like the boldness of the choices.  You can tell where every different proprietor is, just by following the changes in architecture or paint all the way down the street.  Who says midwesterners are staid and stodgy.  You’d never know it by the colors on the buildings.  It is really a bit of unexpected eye candy in southern Indiana.

I used the pen and ink base once again and then layed a base of pastel.  When I got most of the color I wanted, I added in some colored pencil and popped the color with the fixative.  No watercolor this time in the overlay.  I felt that the pencil gave me the detail I wanted this time around.

Southern Indiana Main Street

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. one heart
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 21:38:50

    I lived in Indianapolis for a couple of years (2000-2002) and really enjoyed making my way around to the small towns with their squares and old buildings. It felt so homey and safe. Your drawings bring back a lot of nice memories. Sure was different than out here in the West!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Feb 12, 2011 @ 12:11:33

      I was actually raised in the Chicago area and moved to Indiana for graduate school (Purdue) in the seventies. I met my husband there and we moved to southern Indiana after that. We both worked in Indianapolis for a few years before he started his own contracting and then timber frame business. That is where I got my start in architectural art. We visited a lot of small towns along the way and thankfully I took a lot of pictures.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

