Flying turkeys

Well I haven’t done too well this week, either in the studio or on the web. I have another  good excuse though. On Wednesday I was diagnosed with a UT stone. I am on the mend now and although it will take two weeks to recover, I am glad to be where I am now, versus the last month.

Since I have barely started  inking on my next piece, I thought I’d give another peek at Wild Crane Overlook’s wildlife. The turkeys have been in hiding for a while it seems, perhaps for hunting season. We have often seen two toms roaming the area and courting the females.  I like to call them Tom and Jerry. Those of you old enough may recognize a cartoon reference there. I saw one tom down by the pond about a week ago. He was looking around, back and forth, before he headed down to the water. When he got down to the water’s edge, he took off and flew clear to the other side. Suddenly, two other toms emerged from the forest edge and flew over the ice to follow him. I guess that was what he kept looking around at. So Tom and Jerry seem to have found another friend. I hope this spring that we can see them courting the hens again. Before we moved here, I had only seen a tom displaying to hens one time in 25 years. Now, we see it almost every spring. It’s pretty exciting. Perhaps this year I can get a photo too.

Turkey by the lake

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lindahalcombfineart
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 16:37:04

    You live in such a beautiful natural location. Thank you for sharing your photos.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jan 23, 2011 @ 19:55:48

      Thanks. I feel very grateful for living where we do. We built our house and moved in about 2 1/2 years ago. The pond was put in while we were clearing the building site and we stocked it two years ago. We have seen bald eagles in the area, too. They are pretty spectacular. Every day there is the possibility of seeing something new. My blog has turned into something about my artwork and the wildlife that I see around. Kind of a natural pairing since I do some wildlife art along with the architectural.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

