The Start of a New Year

Now that the holidays are basically over , I have been thinking about what to do next. I have been considering doing something new, but with an old technique. When I first started pursuing pen and ink drawing, lo those many years ago, all I had was an old fashioned nib pen and dipping ink. Many of the animal portraits I did back then were made with this pen and it really does give a different feel than the technical pens. I got started with the technical pens when I went seriously into architectural art. It was way easier to just be able to draw and not keep dipping the pen in the ink repeatedly. I liked the flow of the rendering better too. Since I would like to alternate a few of the animal portraits in with the architectural work, I think it would be an interesting contrast and good for the brain to try something “new.” I might even try to set a color overlay of pastel or watercolor on them. I do get tired of the black and white sometimes and I did enjoy the color tiger picture I posted earlier. Here are some older examples from my animal art using the nib pen. Can you tell the difference?

Florida pelican

Raccoon

Also, here is my latest listing on etsy.

 http://www.etsy.com/listing/65124640/california-courthouse-pen-and-ink

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lindahalcombfineart
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 08:06:37

    I like both of these and the raccoon is particularly well done. I like the use of the nib pen very much. I always believe there is a role to be played for each tool. That role may vary by artist and may be influenced by easy of use and efficiency considerations. Each artist achieves something different with each tool. I hope you use both pens as your work is really wonderful using both types of pens.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jan 03, 2011 @ 19:51:17

      Thanks so much. When I used the nib pen I didn’t know I had other options. Then, it was a learning process with the technical pen to decide what I liked most. I currently use a .35 nib most of the time with an occasional .50. Your right, though. Each pen has it’s place. I just haven’t used the nib and ink in about 20 years and felt like it would be fun to try. Ask me later if I still like it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

