Post holiday update

Well, I don’t know if I’m posting 2 days late or 1 day early. I have tried to regularly post on Sundays and Wednesdays and have been pretty much on schedule so far, but the holidays have a way of altering plans. We managed to have a white Christmas, but have had over 16″ of snow for the month – third most for recorded weather and more than enough for me. I guess I should be grateful that we didn’t get the east coast storm of the last few days.

I finally got to photograph some of the artwork out in the sun right before Christmas . The snow melted back enough from the door to put out my photo stand and sun shone enough to take decent pictures. I still am not totally happy with the photos because the yellow facade is not quite right, but will keep at it and post what I have for my latest drawing. I like the picture more and more as time goes by. Sometimes, that is the way it is. I liked it but was not overwhelmed by the way the picture turned out, but I let it sit for a few days while our son and daughter took over my studio to work on a stained glass window to go over the front door entrance way.  I made a few minor adjustments and am much more pleased.  I used pen and ink and pastels, with a little bit of colored pencil.

Here’s a link to an Etsy treasury with one of my cat drawings.  Sarah picked out some beautiful white items and I am pleased that she liked my “Gizmo” drawing. 

http://www.etsy.com/treasury/4d187f6876646d91cb7d2740/vintage-winter-whites

Tomorrow, after I have unloaded my camera I will also  post a picture of the stained glass  window the kids are working on.  My studio was commandeered for the better part of the week, but it was worth it. The glass has all been cut out and next they will foil the pieces and then assemble it with lead solder.  I can hardly wait for it to be finished and installed.

Indiana streetscape black and white

Streetscape with pastel overlay

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lindahalcombfineart
    Dec 29, 2010 @ 08:36:48

    Hi Ruth! I like your architectural art. Very well done. Are you from Indiana? I live in Indianapolis, grew up on a farm in Indiana and can relate to your photos and comments. Keep posting! I like seeing your work.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Dec 29, 2010 @ 10:11:26

      I was raised in the south suburbs of Chicago but have lived in Indiana since 1975, when I attended Purdue graduate school for animal behavior (thus the animal art and photos). I met my husband there and we have lived in rural south central Indiana ever since. I got into architectural art because John started his own construction company in the early 80’s and we couldn’t afford anyone else. I find it good for me to switch between the two subjects so I don’t get stale. Thanks for your kind comments.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

