The buck doesn’t stop here, but his girlfriends do.

I was just starting supper tonight when my husband said there were deer out in the back yard. I hoped it was the buck but it was only two does. They came up to within 50 feet of the house, so I took my camera and put it up to the glass to minimize the glare of the flash. It worked well enough to do that. I lightened the picture some so the does could be seen more easily. Sometimes we have seen herds of a dozen or more. The wildlife has been somewhat scarce the last two months. Perhaps the cold and snow have them in hiding. They’ll probably appreciate better weather just as much as I will. And they don’t have to drive in it.

I finished my latest drawing but want to try for better light for the photos. It has been so dark and bleak during the day lately and I really don’t want to take my artwork out in the snow. Ditto for the camera in the extreme cold. Maybe tomorrow.

Two does

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. heavycats
    Dec 22, 2010 @ 19:05:04

    it’s a great luck see the wild these wild animals just closer and outside home……

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Dec 22, 2010 @ 20:01:13

    Yes, it is great. We have seen wild tom turkeys displaying, lots of water birds, a mink, foxes, coyotes, and even bald eagles twice. However, the most exciting for me were the coyote pups on our front porch and in the flower bed. We saw the parents racing around the front yard and then the pups suddenly appeared and came right up to the house. Silly me, I never thought to get the camera, so we just enjoyed watching them for a few minutes until they ran off. It was a WOW moment.

    Reply

  3. Michele
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 16:17:42

    That’s a great pic! While on one of my walk this fall, we witnessed a buck chasing a doe! It was a pretty cool sight!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

