A good day to be inside

We are having the first snowfall of the year today.  It’s mostly just a dusting with a little blowing around, but it is a good day to be inside and catch up on computer tasks and then spend the afternoon in the studio.  A few months ago I bought some acid free blank greeting card stock and I think I might play around with that next.  I tried working on some animal portraits, but they weren’t going especially well, so something else is in order.

I have let the last picture sit for a few days and am finally happy with it.  It is a mixed media of pen and ink, watercolor, and firm pastel, and colored pencil.  I like the play of the stonework with the blue door and the terra cotta colored trim.  Very west coast looking.  I found this house on the way to a wedding.  Always take your trusty camera with you.  Digital cameras are a great boon.

The outdoor light for pictures is not great today but what the heck.  I tried an outdoor shot and the wind tried to pick up and blow away the drawing.  Not good.   I decided to take  the pictures inside under my outdoor flourescents and Ott table light this time.  They seem to be okay, but I will rephotgraph it again again when the weather is better just to compare.  I really do prefer the natural light.  Once again I will show the black and white underdrawing and then the finished artwork.

B&W underdrawing

Isn't color wonderful

Leave a Reply

