After Thanksgiving, back to work

California store front

Well, the holiday season has begun.  It is a busy time when everything else competes with studio time.  I have started my next drawing but it is slow going with a lot of distractions.  It is another stone building but of a house this time from the Napa valley.  I have already drawn in with ink and am coloring now.  It will be a mixture of watercolor and pastels and so far seems to be going well.  I want to finish it this week, but who knows.

Because the house is not ready yet, I thought I’d put up some previous work.  The storefront is also from a California trip for a family wedding.  I was listening to my favorite musician, Dan Fogelberg, when I did it and it always makes me think of his music when I look at it.

The tiger drawing came from a visit to the zoo.  He was rather magnificent looking and I was able to take several good pictures as he moved across his enclosure.

Tiger in color

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lindahalcombfineart
    Nov 27, 2010 @ 18:27:23

    The detail in your artwork is very impressive. Very nice work!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Nov 27, 2010 @ 21:22:24

      Thanks. I like the detail aspect, but not photorealism. My brain would get overwhelmed. That’s the nice thing about an overlay on pen and ink. I can have the fluidity of watercolor, colored pencil, or pastel to soften the hard edges. By the way I liked your Indiana Autumn the way it was. I find I often need to let a painting set for a few days to get less involved and see it again. Sometimes I change things and sometimes not. Sometimes it is hard to know when to stop.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

